Outline of a Hypoglycemic Diet

Up-to-date information on hypoglycemia

This blog reflects my journey of learning and understanding hypoglycemia. This means that some of my older posts may have information that is out-of-date as I’ve learned more or research has changed. For the most updated macro-level information on living with hypoglycemia, please visit Up-to-date info on hypoglycemia (start here) page.

If you’re curious if the information in a particular post is still accurate, please feel free to leave a comment on the post asking and I’ll respond letting you know if there is any updated information.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

After finding out that I had hypoglycemia, I went to dieticians to help me figure out what I need. I cannot say enough positive things about dieticians. Even if you don’t have hypoglycemia, it is WELL WORTH the money to go see one a couple of times.

Anyway, the dietician created this basic hypoglycemic outline for me based on the number of calories/carbs/protein I needed every day (carb listings are approximate):

Basic Hypoglycemic Diet

All meals are 3 hours apart:

  • Breakfast: 60 g carbs, protein
  • Mid-Morning Snack: 30 carbs, protein
  • Lunch: 60 g carbs, protein
  • Mid-Afternoon Snack: 30 carbs, protein
  • Dinner: 60 g carbs, protein
  • Mid-Evening Snack: 30 g carbs, protein

Looks pretty easy huh? It is once you learn how many carbs things are and what types of foods you should be eating.

Good Carbs (check your portion sizes)

  • Whole grain bread
  • Fruit (whole is best, dried is ok, not juice!)
  • Whole wheat pasta (also has protein)
  • Protein bars (some of them)
  • Brown rice
  • Beans (also has protein)

Sources of Protein (check your portion sizes)

  • Lean meat
  • Protein shakes (some have carbs too)
  • Edamame (soy beans, dried, steamed, etc.)
  • Eggs
  • Cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Milk
  • Whole wheat pasta (also carbs)
  • Protein bars (also  carbs)
  • Beans (also carbs)
  • Nuts
  • Seeds
  • Quinoa
  • Couscous

A typical day for me

So, a typical day for me might be:

  • 5:15 pre-workout snack of 15 carbs. This is usually a Milano cookie. I know it’s bad for me. No one said I was perfect!
  • 6:30 breakfast: 1 cup Kashi Go-Lean cereal or oatmeal, espresso with 6 oz milk
  • 9:30 mid-morning snack: 1 apple and 1 egg white
  • Noon lunch: Peanut butter and honey sandwich on whole wheat bread, carrotts. Or a slice of bread, and a sampling of fruits and cheeses if I’m feeling European.
  • 3 pm mid-afternoon snack: Usually in meeting, so a box of raisins and a 100 calorie pack of almonds
  • 6 pm dinner: 1 cup cooked whole wheat pasta, steamed edamame, non-starchy veggie. Sometimes hamburgers, french toast (breakfast for dinner rocks) or pizza. What? Remember me saying I wasn’t perfect?
  • 9 pm evening snack: Protein bar (Usually Clif or ZonePerfect)

If I get hungry during the day between meals and snacks, I try to keep semi-healthy snacks in my drawer, such as animal crackers, water crackers, dried soy beans, etc.  Sadly I dive into this drawer too often.

Again, you can’t really use what is above. You need to go see a dietician! I know it’s not on your list of ways to spend money, but tough! Do it anyway!

Note: I continue to update, especially the good carb and protein lists as I find new sources.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Alisha A Matthews says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your day and foods with protein and carbs. It is hard for me just to get food down due to my gastric bypass. I am going to try harder and use the tools you just gave me to keep those sugars up.

    1. administrator says:

      Ugh, that’s gotta be tough. I’m surprised your doctor didn’t pre-plan for your food aversion (what I call it when I am sickened by the sight of food).

      When it happens to me, I rely on protein shakes. I can usually keep those down. Just make sure the kind you buy have 7-30g protein and 15-60g carbohydrates to keep your sugar even. Myoplex light in vanilla is a good shake. I recently discovered Calnaturale Svete protein shakes and they taste pretty good too.

Leave a Reply

