Black Bean Brownies

black bean brownies
We’ve learned that I’m terrible at food photography, so here’s some black bean brownies from Flickr: cheffreeman

 

Ok, I didn’t come up with this one on my own, but I’ve decided to publish a black bean brownie recipe. Everyone who knows me knows that I LOVE brownies. They were one of the hardest foods for me to give-up. But, every now and then, a black bean one, which has less fat and more protein than regular brownies, can’t hurt.

And here’s the kicker, these little puppies are moist and taste DELICIOUS. I was really skeptical at first as everyone else is when I tell them what they are, but you’ll never taste the black beans.

Ingredients:

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven according to brownie mix packaging.
  2. Empty can of black beans, liquid and all, into a blender and blend the hell out of them.
  3. Mix the blended back beans into the brownie mix.
  4. Put in a 9 x 9 round pan (recommend) that has only been sprayed on the bottom (old baking trick from my grandmother).
  5. Bake according to brownie package directions. Note: Your brownies will not look the same as if you baked them with the egg, oil and water. Mine looked fluffier.
  6. Enjoy (watch your portion size)!

I’m too lazy to do this on my own, but click here to see the nutritional breakdown.

Enjoy!

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    I can vouch for Nicole’s brownies – you would never know the difference between a brownie made using the beans and one without. Still lots of rich chocolatey goodness! [And less guilt about eating them! 😉 ]

Leave a Reply

