Hypoglycemics becoming diabetic

I’ve struggled with this post for almost 2 weeks, but if this is going to be an actual account of my life with hypoglycemia then I need to tell.

A couple of weeks ago, I went in to meet my new general physician.  Everyone, and I do mean EVERYONE is in love with this doctor. Not only is he an MD, but he also holds a degree in mechanical engineering from MIT and is board certified in sleep medicine. Dang this guy makes even me look lazy! Anyway…

I told him I was a severe hypoglycemic and he asked me my numbers, what happened when I didn’t eat, etc. He then dropped a bomb on me: He told me I needed to start looking for signs, such as my feet going numb, of diabetes. He said I was so bad that his prediction was that I wouldn’t make it more than 2 more years before becoming a full-blown diabetic.

I was shocked. He actually said a lot more than what is above, but I can’t remember anything else. I knew I wouldn’t ever get over my hypoglycemia, but I thought, only in extreme cases, that I would become worse. I got in my car afterwards and cried all the way back to work.

I know that people just fine with diabetes. Heck, Halle Berry does just fine, but I was still very scared.

After that, I noticed that my feet do get numb a lot. I’ve always rationalized that it’s because I have long legs and poor circulation in them, but after my conversation with the doctor, this only added to my fear.

A couple of days ago, my work had free blood sugar screenings, so I waited 2 hours after I ate and headed down. My blood sugar was 68, well within the hypoglycemic range. Not healthy, but not diabetes either.

Does that mean I’m in the clear? Nope. But it means I’m OK with the time being.

I really hope Dr. Smartashell is wrong for once in his life!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    And you’re so good about what you eat and exercising and everything else! Are there any other steps you can take to prevent full-blown diabetes? I would think if you currently are not diabetic that the foot problems would be unrelated, but that’s only based on my limited knowledge of the issue. Keep me posted on what you find out!

    1. nfinkbeiner says:

      Hi Laura,

      He thought it was goingto happen no matter what I do. He did say one way I could slow down to progression to diabetes was to increase the quality of my sleep. I get about 6-7 hours per night, which isn’t enough and the quality of my sleep isn’t very high.

      Foot problems are a big sign of diabetes, including poor circulation, but it isn’t always.

      I will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

