High-fiber, blueberry bran muffins

If you are a hypoglycemic, fiber is one of your best friends. Studies have shown that fiber is good for people with diabetes and that usually means it’s good for us too!

Below is a recipe for some high fiber, blueberry bran muffins. I should note upfront that I did not originate this recipe. I got it out of Oxygen magazine (which I no longer read because I think it’s mostly just a public relations campaign for the guy’s wife’s diet book) in May 2009. A reader named Nikki Street submitted it. Over the years, I’ve made some modifications to it (changed some of the process and one of the ingredients). Enjoy!

A pan of high-fiber blueberry bran muffins
Nom nom nom

 

High fiber, blueberry bran muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup high-fiver bran cereal (I use Kellogg’s All Bran)
  • 1 cup wheat bran (usually in the cereal aisle)
  • 1 1/2 cup fat-free vanilla yogurt (I use Greek yogurt to add more protein)
  • 1/2 cup flaxseeds (I buy mine ground already)
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup unpacked brown sugar (the original recipe called for maple sugar flakes, but good luck finding those!)
  • 6 individual packages Stevia
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda (Note: Do not get the portions of power and soda mixed up! Trust me on this one!)
  • 1/4 tsp salt (sea salt preferred)
  • 1/2 cup low-fat milk
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups blueberries (Two of the 4.4 oz containers is about 2 cups. Can substitute for another fruit)
  • cooking spray

 Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • In a bowl, combine the bran cereal, wheat bran, yogurt, and flaxseeds. Let sit for 10 minutes while you do everything else.
  • In another bowl, combine the whole wheat flour, brown sugar, Stevia, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  • Now that your bran mixture has sat for 10 minutes, add the milk, oil, egg whites, and vanilla. Stir in the blueberries. Fold into flour mixture (Note: this is a workout in itself! This stuff gets thick and hard to mix!).
  • Spray a 12-muffin pan with the cooking spray.
  • Spray a bit of cooking spray on an ice cream scoop and use that to scoop over-the top portions into each place. These muffins won’t rise, so don’t worry about too much!
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes until brown on top.

Notes:

  • These freeze well for a short period of time. I just put 4 or so in a Ziploc freezer bag and thaw them the day before I want to eat them.
  • I heat mine up a few minutes in the microwave and, yes, throw a touch of butter on them. It’s amazing!

Nutritional info. using SparkPeople’s Recipe Calculator:

 

Nutrition Facts
User Entered Recipe
  12 Servings
Amount Per Serving
  Calories 255.9
  Total Fat 12.4 g
  Saturated Fat 1.7 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 2.9 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 7.2 g
  Cholesterol 0.5 mg
  Sodium 559.8 mg
  Potassium 257.6 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
  Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
  Sugars 9.4 g
  Protein 9.2 g
  Vitamin A 2.6 %
  Vitamin B-12 19.9 %
  Vitamin B-6 23.8 %
  Vitamin C 7.0 %
  Vitamin D 3.0 %
  Vitamin E 3.4 %
  Calcium 17.3 %
  Copper 8.7 %
  Folate 22.6 %
  Iron 10.7 %
  Magnesium 19.0 %
  Manganese 42.6 %
  Niacin 8.4 %
  Pantothenic Acid     4.0 %
  Phosphorus     22.0 %
  Riboflavin 11.7 %
  Selenium 6.7 %
  Thiamin 8.5 %
  Zinc 6.3 %
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

 

Up-to-date information on hypoglycemia

This blog reflects my journey of learning and understanding hypoglycemia. This means that some of my older posts may have information that is out-of-date as I’ve learned more or research has changed. For the most updated macro-level information on living with hypoglycemia, please visit Up-to-date info on hypoglycemia (start here) page.

If you’re curious if the information in a particular post is still accurate, please feel free to leave a comment on the post asking and I’ll respond letting you know if there is any updated information.

Thanks for reading!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Suzanna says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  2. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came
    to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Terrific blog and great design.

  3. blogspot.Com says:

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

