Product review: Healthy Choice Greek frozen yogurt. Yum!

Normally, advertising doesn’t affect me, mostly because it’s my job. But, an ad on the back of Fitness Magazine for a new product, Healthy Choice Greek frozen yogurt, definitely caught my attention. I love vanilla, I love ice cream (but can’t have it), and Greek yogurt is awesome! So, I had to try it.

A box and an individual container of Healthy Choice Greek Frozen Yogurt

Shopping experience:

It was easy enough to find. It was in the freezer section in my local HEB grocery store next to the other Healthy Choice meals. They had three flavors, vanilla bean, blueberry, and strawberry. Each were priced at $2.50 for a box of three containers, so pretty high considering what you get. The other thing I noticed is that the portion size in the photo on the box looks much larger than the actual serving to me.

Taste:

I got home from the store and tore one open right away (it was time for a snack anyway) and wow! It was really good. It wasn’t too sweet, which I liked, but the taste was flavorful. It was also incredibly smooth and melted in my mouth. It was really hard not to immediately tear open another one! Vanilla bean ice cream was a favorite of mine before I discovered I was hypoglycemic, but I think I might have just found a substitute! It’s not exact, but it’s very close.

Back of the box of Healthy Choice Greek Frozen Yogurt
Here’s a snapshot of the nutrition on the back for you to see

Nutrition:

Calorie-wise, these little treats aren’t too bad. They clock in at just 100 calories (if, after trying one, you can stick to only eating one at a time!). The fat is also low at 2 grams. And, at 17 grams for carbohydrates, it’s a good portion of carbs for a hypoglycemic (although, it’s mostly sugar as is regular Greek yogurt). My only real complaint here is the protein. When I think “Greek yogurt” I think high-protein. For example, Dannon’s Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt has 95 calories for a 1/2 cup serving and 8.5 grams of protein. If you have a hypoglycemic diet similar to mine, you need 7 grams of protein per snack. So, I was disappointed when I read the back and saw only 4 grams. I was really hoping to eat an apple and one of these cups as a snack; that would give me the carbs I need but not the protein I need. I would buy these a lot more often if they were higher in protein.

Overall:

Overall, I enjoyed this product. If you crave ice cream or just want a treat once in a while, I would recommend it. Just remember to plan out what else you are going to have to keep your blood sugar even.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Julie says:

    Just found your blog – a huge help as I was just diagnosed with hypoglycemia and my head, and life, are swirling. It’s just so nice to read about how well you manage it all. Thanks for sharing your journey!

  2. nfinkbeiner says:

    Hi Julie!

    I’m absolutely elated that you found this site, found it useful, and commented on it! I knew when I started this blog that the traffic would never be huge, but I told myself I’d be happy if only a handful of people found it helpful. So THANK YOU!

    I’m sorry to hear that you have hypoglycemia.

    I remember how hard it was for me when I first found out. It’s a huge lifestyle change. But I promise you, WINNING is CONTROLLING the condition and once you do that through proper diet, you will feel MUCH better. Probably the most important post you need to read is the Outline of a Hypoglycemic Diet. It’s here: https://hypoglycemiaresource.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/outline-of-a-hypolycemic-diet/. Also, this post has good tips on carrying food with you at all times and while traveling: https://hypoglycemiaresource.wordpress.com/2012/08/19/travel-tips-for-hypoglycemics-and-healthy-eaters/

    If you ever have any specific questions or topics you’d like me to research and write about, please let me know by commenting on a post like you did today. I would be more than happy to see what I can find out and write about it. One of my doctor friends asks me to do this from time to time too!

    Nicole

  3. Laura says:

    Nice that it’s one carbohydrate and still tasty. I may have to check this out. They should, however, come up with a chocolate flavor. 😀

    1. nfinkbeiner says:

      Hmmmm….chocolate would be good!

Leave a Reply

