Hypoglycemic? You MUST carry food with you!

Up-to-date information on hypoglycemia

This blog reflects my journey of learning and understanding hypoglycemia. This means that some of my older posts may have information that is out-of-date as I’ve learned more or research has changed. For the most updated macro-level information on living with hypoglycemia, please visit Up-to-date info on hypoglycemia (start here) page.

If you’re curious if the information in a particular post is still accurate, please feel free to leave a comment on the post asking and I’ll respond letting you know if there is any updated information.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

If you are a hypoglycemic, you MUST carry food with you at all times!  There is no exception to this!  In fact, I had a doctor who, every time she saw me in her office, would make me show her that I food on me!

General Tips:

  • My general rule of thumb is to carry 9 hours worth of food (3 protein/carb snacks) with me at all times in my bag while in the U.S. (this just doesn’t mean while traveling, it’s EVERY DAY of my life) and 12 hours (4 snacks) with me while outside my own country.
  • For all of the snacks you carry with you, try to use them sparingly and replenish them as much as possible. Remember, the idea is to keep a good stash of food on you at all times, so don’t deplete your stash too much! It just pays to be prepared.  Getting into your stash as little as possible takes some pre-planning, but it’s not too difficult. If you walk into somewhere and notice a free bowl of fruit, grab an apple to eat  later instead of your dried fruit. Or, while grabbing lunch somewhere, purchase a small snack to have for your afternoon snack at the same time and carry it with you.
  • A purse isn’t the only option. You can use a backpack, satchel, briefcase, wristlet etc.

My Food Bag:

Here are two photos of my food bag that is always in my purse. The bag is a rubbery material which keeps moisture out. I picked it up in the school supply section of a store.

Purse with a bag full of food sticking out of it
One of my favorite purses and my food bag, which fits (tightly) in it.
This shows the contents of my food bag usually. 1 Clif Bar, 2 portioned bags of nuts, 1 box of raisins, 1 box of dried cranberries, and a Zone bar.
This shows the contents of my food bag usually. 1 Clif Bar, 2 portioned bags of nuts, 1 box of raisins, 1 box of dried cranberries, and a Zone bar.

So, as you can see, the total for the food bag is actually 12 hours.

  1. Clif Bar if I need something a little more substantial.
  2. 1 box of cranberries and a bag of nuts for a light snack.
  3. 1 box of raisins and a bag of nuts for a light snack.
  4. 1 Zone Bar for a light snack.

Other valuable posts:

Outline of a Hypoglycemic Diet

Travel tips for hypoglycemics and healthy eaters

How I lost the weight (and keep it off)!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

