Homemade Pita Chips and Corn and Black Bean Salsa Recipes

Homemade pita chips and corn salsa
Homemade pita chips and corn salsa, ready to go for the party!

I always try to take something healthy to holiday parties so that I make sure and have something healthy to snack on. Above is a photo of the homemade pita chips and the homemade corn and black bean salsa I made for my friend’s party. Below are the recipes. Both of these recipes I adapted from a healthy eating seminar I attended at work.

Homemade pita chips (a healthy alternative to store bought)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Take a piece of pita bread and split it into two lengthwise as if creating a pita pocket.
  3. Using kitchen shears, cut the pita into wedges.
  4. Place wedges “rough” side up on a clean surface. Spray with water.
  5. Sprinkle with desired amount of salt.
  6. Transfer to a baking sheet and bake approximately 8-12 minutes depending on desired brown/crunchiness.
  7. Enjoy!

Corn and Black Bean Salsa

Combine the following ingredients:

  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed.
  • 1 can sweet corn, drained.
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained.
  • 1 small chopped onion (I prefer a sweet onion).
  • 2 Tbs chopped cilantro (or an amount depending on your liking)
  • 2 Tbs lime juice
  • Salt, pepper, chili power, and cayenne pepper to taste.

Serve immediately or refrigerate (although I think it tastes best fresh).

Other valuable posts:

Outline of a Hypoglycemic Diet

Travel tips for hypoglycemics and healthy eaters

How I lost the weight (and keep it off)!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    Wow, it really is easier to make pita chips than I guess I was thinking it would be. I’ll have to do this. And for everyone else I can attest that the salsa is excellent!

Leave a Reply

