Product Review: Pineapple Slicer and Wedger review

As a hypoglycemic, I eat a lot of fruit. Particularly, I love pineapple. But, I hate cutting one up. So, when I found this Pineapple Slicer and Wedger at Bed, Bath and Beyond a year or so ago, I got really excited.

So is it worth the $9.99 price tag? Nope. Skip it. Here are my complaints:

  • I get a lot less pineapple with this than if I cut the pineapple myself.
  • I”m not convinced it saves time.
  • Despite the demo video on Beth Bath and Beyond’s website, it’s really hard to drive it down into the pineapple. Think of me comedically putting all of my body weight on top of the darn thing to have enough pressure to get it into the pineapple.
  • Again, despite the demo video, the core of the pineapple always ends up stuck in the Pineapple Slicer and Wedger. Getting it out has left me with many bruises and one bloody hand.

I’ll go back to the old-fashioned way thank you very much.

Pineapple Slicer and Wedger
This Pineapple Slicer and Wedger is not worth it!
Cutting board with cut-up pineapple and 7 containers full of pineapple.
Back to the old-fashioned way of cutting up a pineapple. But look how many servings I got! 7!

Other valuable posts:

Outline of a Hypoglycemic Diet

Travel tips for hypoglycemics and healthy eaters

How I lost the weight (and keep it off)!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    Ow!!! I once had an apple slicer/corer’s plastic frame break and I think I ended up cutting myself on the now-exposed blades, although I managed to avoid the worst of it. Not fun.

Leave a Reply

