Greek yogurt as a sour cream substitute

One of my favorite foods is fajitas. I love, love, love, love, LOVE fajitas. And, when I make-up my fajitas, I have to hold back on guacamole and sour cream, two of my favorite toppings. Now, normally, if you mess with my food, I’m not gonna be happy. But, I have to admit, when I went to a healthy eating luncheon with a wellness coach about a year ago and we had fajitas, I could not tell that she used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream until she told us.

A photograph of a fajita with chicken, sour cream, vegetables, and queso cheese
See that dollop of sour cream? Try Greek yogurt instead (and ditch the queso!). Photo from flickr: jeffreyw

So, long story short, it works! I now use plain Greek yogurt (I recommend Okios Greek yogurt) in place of sour cream quite often. Is it perfect? No, but it works pretty good.

I’m guessing if you asked for this substitute at an authentic Mexican restaurant, they’d back-hand you faster than a news anchor asking an Italian cook if she can swap cottage cheese for ricotta (true story, the camera cut-away REAL fast), but if you happen to be making fajitas or other sour cream-friendly dishes at home, I recommend giving it a try.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    Are you using plain Greek yogurt? I’m assuming that’s the flavor.

    1. nfinkbeiner says:

      Yep! The plain stuff! Although I’ve also seen people use the vanilla Greek yogurt as their base for a healthy sweet dip.

Leave a Reply

