Review of Jillian Michaels’ Bodyshred Circuit Workout

While we are on the subject of Jillian Michaels (see Jillian Michaels has had to change her philosophy), Fitness Magazine also published her Bodyshred Circuit Workout, so I thought I’d give it a shot. Below is my review.

Positives:

  • It’s tough! You don’t want to be able to do a workout well all the way through the first couple of times or you aren’t challenging yourself in new ways. This workout definitely took some getting used to.
  • It’s efficient. With cardio and weights combined and about 35 minutes (she say’s 30, but I take a bit more for some water sips and transitions), you get a full workout very quickly.
  • It’s easy to understand what you need to do. Except the one-legged mountain climber thing. I recommend watching a few videos on YouTube to understand that move.

Negatives:

  • You are supposed to do it four days a week. I find that a bit excessive. Aren’t you supposed to give your muscles rest between weight-lifting days? I work out on average 6 days a week, but I do weights every other day and cardio on the off days.
  • It’s boring. I can’t really explain why, maybe it’s the repetition, maybe because there’s nothing really unique about it, maybe it’s because it’s meant to be done in a group exercise class. No matter what the reason, I just find it incredibly boring, which doesn’t help me want to do it.
Leave a Reply

