What would your groceries look like if you had to lay them out?

A family showing a week of groceries displayed on a table. The majority of the foods are processed foods.
Here’s the Revis Family representing America in California Photographer’s Peter Menzel collection of photographs of groceries for families around the world. Click on the photo to see all of the photos.

I was killing time on my Flipboard app yesterday when I noticed a cool photo journal titled, “Hungry Planet: What the World Eats – in pictures.” California Photographer Peter Menzel traveled to 24 countries  for the book Hungry Planet. The photo slideshow says that the point is to show “how much the world’s weekly groceries cost” and it does a good  job of that (it’s really sad in some cases).I was more interested in what people are EATING.

Not shockingly, the developed countries are eating a lot more processed foods than anyone else.  As I’ve mentioned before, processed foods can prevent you from losing weight and they aren’t good for you if you are hypoglycemic.

I know how much I spend on groceries, but I wonder, if I laid out my groceries on the table and took photographs, would I be happy with the results? Would you?  It might be an interesting experiment.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Alex says:

    Oh heavens, my groceries laid out would be horrifying. I like my salty processed snack food.

    1. nfinkbeiner says:

      I know! I stocked-up on Coke Zero last week, so if I had to lay that out, it really wouldn’t look good!

  2. Laura says:

    Okay, I wasn’t supposed to be listed as Alex, I was supposed to be Laura. Whoops, sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

