Keeping fit on vacation

Maintaining fitness is important as a hypoglycemic to maintain blood sugar levels. But it’s really hard to do on vacation!

While it can be difficult, it’s not impossible. Last week, I went to visit my family. Here’s a quick rundown of what I did fitness-wise while on vacation:

Day 1: TSA took zero time, so I had almost two hours to kill at the airport. I laced up my tennis shoes and walked for 45 minutes. I did laps, so some of the same people, including TSA agents saw me go by. To my surprise, a few shouted out words of encouragement like, “Keep going!” when I passed them.

Day 2: 50 minutes of body weight exercises (i.e. push-ups) in the living room. My brother drank coffee and commented on the level of difficulty of each move. At one point, he threatened to go get some chips to eat in front of me…jerk. 🙂

Day 3: 1 hour walking outside. It was beautiful to see the flowers, the grasses, etc. But, lest you think it was a nice leisurely walk, I should mention that where I was is known for dramatic hills. Just walking, there were a few hills I wasn’t sure I could make it up.

Day 4: See Day 2

Day 5: Screaming niece kept me up all night and I don’t sleep well on airplanes, so I opted for more sleep vs. exercise, an OK choice every once in a while.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    I am ALL about sleep because when I don’t have it, *I* turn into a screaming baby! 😀

    1. administrator says:

      Sometimes sleep is very good :). I have wondered where that line is, when it’s better just to sleep in and when it’s better to get up work out. If you only have four hours of sleep for example, would it be better to sleep in? I’m guessing so. But, then again, if we are only getting four hours, the real issue is that we ARE ONLY GETTING FOUR HOURS. Ok. Enough thinking deep tonight 🙂 thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

