Hypoglycemia and Going to Events

Even if you know an event you are going will have food, as a hypoglycemic, you still need to carry food on you for a couple of reasons:

  • You know the food with you meets your calorie/protein/carb needs.
  • There might be long lines, they may shut the food down, etc. You need to be prepared.
  • You should never go anywhere without food!
  • It’s cheaper. Eating every 3 hours can get pricey at a festival!

The process

Normally, if I’m going somewhere where I think they will not allow me to carry food in, I contact the venue/event managers a few days in advance to explain that I’m hypoglycemic and ask what I need to do. In most cases, they are absolutely great about it. They allow me to carry a small amount of food into concerts, football games, etc. by showing my medical alert necklace or bracelet to the person searching my bag.  I should mention that even the Secret Service, when I’ve been near two different U.S. Presidents, have allowed me to have food with me.

I’ve only had one concert venue give me grief and they give me grief EVERY SINGLE TIME. They always make me “check” (think coat check) my food at the emergency station. This is stupid because it’s tucked-away in a corner and hard to get to. Every time, they make me walk there with a security guard and hand my food over to the EMT’s. What they don’t know though, is once the security guard leaves, the EMT’s vent about how ridiculous it is, have me say “I need my food” and hand it right back to me before I walk back out and join my friends.

The biggest thing, I think is to be up-front and respectful and people usually accommodate. BUT, make sure you have your medical alert with you as proof.

What I carry

I usually carry pre-packaged foods so it’s less of a security issue. I carry protein bars (mindful of not carrying one that melts), nuts and dried fruit. I try to take at least two full snacks with me and plenty of money for food. You can see my usual set-up below with a small wristlet. If I can carry something bigger, I do, with an additional snack.

If I'm only allowed to carry a wristlet with me, I have in it plenty of money for food, a Clif bar, and dried fruit and nuts. My cell phone with credit card also fits.
If I’m only allowed to carry a wristlet with me, I have in it plenty of money for food, a Clif bar, and dried fruit and nuts. My cell phone with credit card also fits.
Leave a Reply

