(Healthy) party in my hotel room!

A photo of a counter and a fridge in a hotel room stocked with healthy food
This was my “stash” of food for four days in Nashville. Note: i got lucky and got a bigger fridge than most people do.

I’ve written before on travel tips for hypoglycemics and healthy eaters. But, to give you a solid photo example from a food perspective, this is my stash after unpacking and a grocery store run in Nashville, TN. Admittedly, this ended up being too much food (my friend who lived locally got the leftovers I couldn’t pack), but it gives you an idea of how I stock-up when traveling to avoid making poor food choices.

I was staying at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel, which is known for expensive and not-so-good food. With a per diem budget of $66 per day (translation: not enough) and crappy food all around me, I tried to eat as many meals in my hotel as possible.

Here’s the full list of what I brought with me:

– Dried cranberries

– Emerald 100 packs of nuts

– PB2

– Local Texas Honey

– Lean Body protein powder

– Optimum Gold Standard Casein Powder

– Trader Joe’s Rosemary Raisin Crackers

– Paper plates

– Silverware

– Small plastic cups for the protein powder

 

What I bought at the store (about $45 total):

– Bananas

– Apples

– Clementines

– Salad mix

– Carrots

– Green Beans

– Chobani Plain Greek Yogurt

– Quaker Oats individual oatmeal cups

– Goat cheese

– 9 Grain bread

– Raisins (whoops, forgot to pack those)

– Caramel rice cakes (which were YUMMMY in the Greek Yogurt)

 

From this, I was able to:

– Have a ton of hypoglycemic-friendly snacks

– Mixed greens salads with goat cheese (protein) and cranberries (carbs) with 2 slices of 9-grain bread (for carbs/calories)

– PB2 & honey sandwiches with carrots and green beans

– Avoid most other food costs

 

And yes…I still splurged on a KILLER BBQ meal at Jacks Barbecue.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

