Recipe review: Cauliflower crust pizza

A cheese pizza with a cauliflower pizza crust As part of my attempts to cut carbs and amp up on protein on my new hypoglycemic diet (it’s working really well to control my blood sugar for 6-7 hours at a time!) and as part of my wellness coaching, I’m trying a couple of new recipes over the next few weeks. So, I tried this Cauliflower Pizza Crust from PopSugar.

The verdict?  Meh. I doubt I’ll make it again. It kept me full and my blood sugar even, but it left a lot to be desired.

The good:

  • The recipes online are easy to follow.
  • It’s definitely filling (Caveat: I ate the whole pizza, so about 540 calories).
  • At least I had a lot of veggies for dinner (actually I always do).

The not-so-good:

  • One of my friends warned me to make it thin for a good taste. I did, but could still really taste the cauliflower.
  • It’s not crunchy like pizza except the edges.
  • I couldn’t pick it up either. It would fall apart, so I had to eat it with a fork.
  • Holy cheese! There’s a lot of it in all of the recipes. It should really be “Cheese and Cauliflower Pizza Crust.”
Leave a Reply

