Product review: thinkThin protein bars

Four Think Thin protein bars
Cookies and Cream, Brownie Crunch, and Chocolate Fudge are my three favorites. I didn’t care for the Caramel Fudge.

With a new reduced carbohydrate and high protein diet to control my hypoglycemia, I needed a new protein bar. I tried the Quest bars on the recommendation of a friend but HOLY SALT were they high in sodium (and this is coming from a salt addict). So on a recommendation from another friend, I tried the thinkThin bars.

The good:
– No sugars added is a huge plus.
– They taste really great.
– The chocolate curbs my chocolate cravings for the rest of the day.
– At 230 ish calories, they are a good size for a large snack or two small ones.
– 20 grams of protein per bar.
– They are easily portable. I eat one thinkThin bar, 14 almonds, and espresso with one cup of milk as my post-workout breakfast.

The not-so-good:
– Some people have stomach issues with maltitol (see Sugar Free Chocolate and the Laxative Effect).
– They are more expensive than the Clif Bars I was eating. The least expensive way I’ve found to buy them is individually at my grocery store for $1.25 each and at Target in boxes of 5 for a little over $1 each (but only a few flavors are stocked at my Target). Amazon is much higher!

Leave a Reply

