How much weight celebrities would have to lose to be under France’s new law of an 18 BMI

A fashion model walks a catwalk in Paris
“Raquel Z -Stella McCartney” by fervent-adepte-de-la-mode is licensed under CC BY 2.0

France took a step in the healthy weight direction this month by banning fashion models under 18 BMI. But does that go far enough? Nope.

Most of my readers know me personally, but for those of you that don’t, I currently am a size 0-2 and have 16.8% body fat, which is considered extremely lean. I’m often told I’m almost too skinny and have often been compared to a fashion model body. I don’t say this to brag, but to give some background. So, I used an online Body Mass Index calculator to see how much weight I’d have to lose before I’d be “too thin” under France’s new law.

17 lbs

Seriously? I can’t even imagine how horrifically thin I’d be at that weight.

Then I decided to have fun with some celebrities whom I consider to have amazing bodies. To be under an 18 BMI:

  • Drew Barrymore would have to lose 18 lbs
  • Natalie Portman would have to lost 10 lbs
  • Brooke Shields would have to lose 22 lbs

I doubt anyone would encourage these women to get to these sizes. The general public, for sure, would find them a lot less appealing and probably try to sign them up for treatment.

So, while I applaud France doing something, they still didn’t do enough.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    That’s just insanity. You’d probably have to start losing muscle to lose 17 pounds and I think you would look sickly!

    1. hyporesource says:

      I know, right??? I think it would have to be loss of muscle mass. You don’t see models with a lot of muscle. I can’t imagine any of those celebrities that skinny either.

Leave a Reply

