Perpetuating the myth of exercise-only weight loss

Cut-up carrots and green beans in portioned containers
“going on a diet” by Roberto is licensed under CC-BY-SA 2.0

Ugh!!! I did it again without thinking!

I was at a conference, overwhelmed with people wanting to speak to me after a talk I’ve given and a woman I know came up and asked me what I do to stay skinny. She asked if I was a runner or something and I immediately rattled-off all of my workout routines (weight-lifting, Pilates, swimming…I conveniently didn’t mention karate because I hate getting stuck talking about that).

NOT ONCE did I mention my diet. Considering what a critical piece diet is in weight-loss, I’ve been trying really hard to make sure I don’t perpetuate the myth of exercise-only weight loss. But, I forgot once again

Hopefully this blog post will be enough of a reminder to not do it again.

Leave a Reply

