Product Review: Met-Rx High Protein Pancakes

I found this Met-Rx High Protein Pancake Mix at my local grocery store and, despite the high cost ($20!), I decided to give it a try with my much-loved Cary’s Sugar Free Syrup.

Positives:

  • Yay!!! Pancakes! I love pancakes and french toast.
  • 3 scoops (300 calories) and 3/4 cup of milk with espresso keeps me full for 3-4 hours and my blood sugar even.
  • They cook-up fast and nice and fluffy  with a slight crunch on the outside (note: the batter is really thick compared to normal batter).

Negatives:

  • The high cost.
  • I don’t want to say they lack flavor, but let’s just say it’s very, very subtle. I add cinnamon and a touch of vanilla to try to help this, but it doesn’t do much. If you’re looking for a wonderful buttermilk flavor, you’ll be disappointed.

Overall:

I’m not going to make this an everyday habit as I think more natural foods are better (eggs, nuts, fruit, etc.), but this is a nice treat every once in a while and especially when I need to be full for a long time.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    This is off-topic but I sometimes notice Groupon sells your PB2 at what I assume is a discount, in case you didn’t know it pops up there sometimes. Just thought I’d share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

