How to cut 300+ calories, and high GI foods, from a salad

I was traveling for work and rushing to visit a dojo for a 2 hour karate workout, but I needed to eat. So, I stopped at a Corner Bakery to get a light meal in.

Scanning their menu, my best light option was their Harvest Salad. The only problem? This salad is actually 780 calories. Way too much. I needed something between 400 and 500 calories.

In addition, there were some things on the salad that have a high Glycemic Index and my dietician has warned me against eating (mainly dried fruit and white bread).

So here’s how I fixed it:

  • I ordered the dressing on the side and used ┬ávery little of it.
  • I picked-out all of the cranberries (I forgot to ask them to leave those out)
  • The white bread went into the trash.
  • I left the protein (chicken) and the healthy fats (walnuts) to make sure I was still full after.

(and yes, I cleaned up after myself)

img_7696
Bye bye calories and high glycemic index parts of my salad.

 

Leave a Reply

