Menstrual cups: Why you’ll never use anything else

Every time I’m in my office or somewhere else and I see other females get “the look,” then reach for their little bag or whatever it is that holds their tampons and go running for the bathroom, I desperately want to chase after them screaming “There’s another way! You don’t have to do this anymore!”

But, alas I don’t, and for the same reason I’ve avoided writing this post for a while, because it’s still a bit of a taboo subject to talk about. Thankfully for me, a friend did tell me about menstrual cups years ago and I’m passing on the favor by telling you all.

Benefits

There’s a lot of articles about benefits and such, but here are why I’m so madly in love with them:

  • On heavy days, I have to empty mine twice per day. On light days, once per day. So WAY less than tampons and way more convenient.
  • No leaky panic moments (see bullet above)
  • Partially because of the first bullet point, I’m sometimes capable of forgetting I’m having my period for hours on end. This could be a downside, however, if I forget to empty it.
  • My Diva Cup was about $30 and they last at least 5 years. How much have you spent on tampons and pads during that time?
  • Environmentally, think of all of the waste from tampons and pads
  • No leakage while working out

Functionality

But Nicole, isn’t it gross? I get this question a lot and if you get easily freaked out by the sight of your own blood, I get it. For me, blood isn’t a big deal, so it’s not so bad. They say to empty them in the toilet. I find that’s a pain and can be messy. So my solution? Take a shower twice a day when I need to empty it and dump it down the drain.

They can be a bit tricky to get out, I’ve pulled on the mine (which has the traditional stem style end) many a time and not had it just snap back like a rubber band on me. Ouch! But that’s because I have a hard time gripping it. Thankfully, Me Luna brand has ring and ball style handles that would work much better.

Feel free to comment below with questions and I’ll add to this. But you can’t say no one told you about them now 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

